Welcome 25, I guess. I’m not quite ready for you yet.

Welp, I guess I can no longer deny it. I’m an adult. I have turned 25 and I don’t quite feel ready to be here yet. I hear from many that turning 25 was hard one. It is an age that a lot of us looked forward to when we set goals and hopes for our future. I’m going to be a lawyer by the time I’m 25. I’m going to own a beautiful condo downtown. I’m going to be married. I’ll have 2 kids. 25 seemed so far away at the time and yet the reality is that we have barely scratched the surface at this age.  When we’re young we spend a lot of energy thinking and planning for the future. We wished that we were older so that we could drive ourselves to orchestra practice, go to a R-rated movie by ourselves, have a cocktail with dinner, have a successful career and make a lot of money. Now that I’m old (ha!) I daydream about the days when I was young and feeling overwhelmed with the endless possibilities that life had to offer. I could be anything I wanted when I grew up. While many might roll their eyes when I say that turning “25” is old, for me it is a wake up call that the future is here now. So as I kiss my 24th year goodbye, I say hello to my future. I say hello to enjoying the unpredictable and insignificant moments of life. I say hello to being whatever I want to be now that I am “grown-up.” So while I made a traditional wish when I blew out the candles on my cake, here is my wish list of 25 things I hope to achieve/have happen this year! Cheers to finally being “grown-up” and living the dream.

Oh, and p.s., thank you for the incredible love notes, calls and gifts yesterday. It was truly one of the most special birthdays I’ve ever had. Thank you for the support and love of my family and friends. You are incredible.

Run a half marathon.

Take a trip to visit my friends that are in graduate/med school.

To enjoy a “me” day once a month.

Take a photography class.

Vote to help re-elect President Obama for a second term.

Make an advancement in my career.

Take an impulsive trip to the Oregon Beach on a sunny day.

Learn more about heart disease prevention.

Shop at Safeway. Once.

Spend more time outdoors this summer – hiking, riding bikes, picnics in the park, etc.

Start a new, collaborative young professionals group.

Try a new dish whenever I go to an old restaurant.

Master a personal signature dish.

Dine alone.

Go to the Newberg drive-in and watch a movie in the back of a pick-up (AKA Theo).

Host more dinner parties.

Go fly fishing.

Taking the tram up the hill to OHSU.

Spend an entire day with my phone turned off once a month.

Re-learn a favorite piece on the piano.

Go to a movie by myself.

Go abroad. Temporarily or permanently…just kidding on the permanent part, Mom.

Buy fresh flowers at the Farmer’s Market.

Spend more time learning about my parent’s childhood.

Spend more time volunteering.

image via

6 thoughts on “Welcome 25, I guess. I’m not quite ready for you yet.

  1. LOVE the list. Call me to join when you plan to:

    Run a half marathon.
    Go abroad.
    Start a new, collaborative young professionals group.
    Take an impulsive trip to the Oregon Beach on a sunny day.
    Spend more time outdoors this summer – hiking, riding bikes, picnics in the park, etc.

    • Um, YES!! I am making side notes on all of these to invite my adventurous and fun friend! Shall we start scheduling running dates??

  2. You’re not old, of course. But I won’t tell you that 25 doesn’t feel like a big milestone. In fact, I am pretty sure there’s a whole book written on dealing with this stage of life (Quarterlife Crisis, I think?). Know that you’re a gracious, charming, intelligent, accomplished young woman. Consider the possibilities, as overwhelming as they seem, a blessing. Thinking, dreaming and planning is a luxury and one to relish in. Enjoy every moment.

    Happy birthday, Ms. Ip.

    • Thank you so much for the kind and encouraging words, Kelli! I definitely do consider my life an incredible blessing and I plan to enjoy the heck out of every moment of it!!

  3. “Take an impulsive trip to the Oregon Beach on a sunny day.”

    Might not be a good idea… remember the last time you guys went to the beach?

    TSUNAMI 2005 STARRING JAY ROSEN!

Leave a Reply

